

18 April 2024

Michael McKitrick State Secretary Australian Federated Union of Locomotive Employees Sent via email: statesecretary@afule.org.au

Dear Michael McKitrick

The Australian Federated Union of Locomotive Employees's annual return of information (annual return) lodged under subsection 233(1) of the RO Act

Thank you for providing your annual return lodged under subsection 233(1) of the Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009 (the RO Act).

## Summary of your annual return and its assessment

Year 2024

Matter number AR2024/76

Lodgement date 5 March 2024

Review Primary Review

Result FILED

### Your primary review

Your annual return had a **primary review** which checked whether it was signed by an officer, lodged on time, the required declarations were made, included the list of offices and office holders and whether you met the requirements that the regulator raised with you last year. A primary review does not examine all the requirements of subsection 233(1).



Your annual return satisfied the requirements of the primary review and has been uploaded to the Fair Work Commission (the Commission) website.

## The Commission's risk-based approach

This year your annual return was assessed against a primary review. Consistent with the Commission's risk-based approach, most annual returns are the subject of a primary review.

The remainder receive an advanced review which is a more comprehensive review.

Each organisation should expect that in some years their annual return will be the subject of an advanced review.

The Commission's advanced review checklists are published on our website.

# Do you have any questions?

Information and education materials are available on our <u>website</u>. These materials are regularly updated. We recommend you <u>subscribe to the Commission's subscription service to find out when we release new materials</u>.

If you have any queries we can be contacted on 1300 341 665 or by email at <a href="mailto:regorgs@fwc.gov.au">regorgs@fwc.gov.au</a>.

Yours sincerely

**Fair Work Commission** 

# ANNUAL RETURN OF INFORMATION (organisation with no branches) in accordance with Regulation 147 Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Regulations 2009 and sections 230 and 233 Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009

I, Michael McKitrick, being the Secretary of the Australian Federated Union of Locomotive Employees, declare the following:

- 1. I am authorised to make this declaration.
- 2. The register of members has, during the immediately preceding calendar year, been kept and maintained as required by section 230(1)(a) and section 230(2) of the Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009 (the Act).
- 3. The following is a correct statement of the information contained in the records required to be kept by the organisation in accordance with section 230(1)(b), (c), and (d) of the Act:
  - The address of the organisation is 41 Peel Street, South Brisbane Qld 4101.1
  - The organisation has no branches and no branches have ceased or commenced in the previous 12 months.<sup>2</sup>
  - On 31 December in the previous year the number of members was 1580. 3
  - A list of offices and the names, postal addresses and occupations of persons holding those offices as at the date of this declaration is attached at Annexure A and forms part of this declaration.
  - Under the rules of the organisation, the following elections must be held between 1 January and 31

    December of THIS YEAR:4

No elections are scheduled THIS YEAR.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Section 230(1)(d); reg. 147(d)

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Section 230(1)(d); reg. 147(a), (b), (c) & (d)

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> Section 230(1)(d); reg. 147(f)

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> Section 230(1)(d); reg. 147(e)

# • The organisation:

- Has not entered into an agreement under section 151(1) of the Act with a state union.

Signed:

Dated: 5 MARCH 2024.

# **Annexure A**

# THIS IS A PUBLIC DOCUMENT THAT WILL BE PUBLISHED ON THE WEBSITE

• Offices and Office Holders in the Organisation:

Name of Office  (include any offices that are vacant)	Name of Office Holder	Postal Address of Office Holder	Occupation of Office Holder
Secretary	Michael John McKitrick	c/- 41 Peel St South Brisbane	Paid official
President	Anthony John James Woodward	As above	Train Driver
Vice President	Andrew Bernard Caris	As Above	Train Driver
Division 1 Councillor	Robert George Daniel	As Above	Train Driver
Division 2 Councillor	Phillip James Brown	As Above	Train Driver
Division 3 Councillor	Stewart Douglas Rach	As Above	Train Driver
Division 4 Councillor	John Anthony Pedersen	As Above	Train Driver
Division 5 Councillor	Paul Richard Carmody	As Above	Train Driver
Division 6 Councillor	David Michael Millward	As Above	Train Driver

Division 7 Councillor	Anthony Chalker	As Above	Train Driver
Proxy Division 1 Councillor	Peter Alan Zischke	As Above	Train Driver
Proxy Division 2 Councillor	Vacant	NA	NA
Proxy Division 3 Councillor	Claudia Payne	c/- 41 Peel St South Brisbane	Train Driver
Proxy Division 4 Councillor	Garry Keith Shaw	As Above	Train Driver
Proxy Division 5 Councillor	Brian John Goddard	As Above	Train Driver
Proxy Division 6 Councillor	Brian James Levis	As Above	Train Driver
Proxy Division 7 Councillor	Glen Roland McGaw	As Above	Train Driver