WORKPLACE RELATIONS ACT 1996 s189 RAO Schedule - arrangement for conduct of an election

Australian & International Pilots Association (E2003/221)

T NASSIOS DEPUTY INDUSTRIAL REGISTRAR MELBOURNE, 3 JULY 2003

DECISION

On 30 June 2003 the abovenamed organisation lodged in the Industrial Registry prescribed information in relation to an election for the following offices:

President (1)
Vice President (3)
Vice President - Flight Engineers (1)
Vice President - 'A' Pilots (1)
Secretary (1)
Assistant Secretary (1)
Treasurer (1)
Committee of Management Members (22)

I am satisfied that an election for the abovenamed office is required to be held under the rules of the organisation and, under subsection 189(3) of *Schedule 1B* of the *Workplace Relations Act 1996*, I am making arrangements for the conduct of the election by the Australian Electoral Commission.



Australian Electoral Commission AEC

Workplace Relations Act 1996 - Schedule 1B

RETURNING OFFICER - POST ELECTION REPORT

Client: Australian and International Pilots Association

Contact details: Mr Robin Holt Email: office@aipa.org.au

President Tel: (02) 9700 0777

AIPA

Locked Bag 747 BOTANY NSW 1455

AIR contact officer: Michelle Carey Email: michelle.carey@air.gov.au

Tel: (03) 8661 7987

ELECTIONS COVERED IN THIS REPORT

Election Decision No/s: E2003/221

Election: Stage 1: Election of Committee of Management.

Stage 2: Election of Officers (Collegiate/Postal)

Returning Officer: Roy Hill

RULES

Rules used for elections Rule ID [127N: Incorporates alterations of 01/12/2000]

Rule/s re eligibility to vote Stage 1: Part 3 – Elections, Rule 38(h) ballot papers

mailed by pre-paid post to the financial members of

the organisation.

Stage 2: Rule 39(b) secret postal ballot of all members of the Committee of Management.

Rules difficult to apply/interpret:

Stage 1:

Rule 40: The ordinary term of office of all Committeemen shall be two years but so that one half approximately of the number of Committeemen will come up for election in each alternate year.

Rule 20 provides for a Committee of Management consisting of 40 persons. Of those forty persons there will be a minimum number of Flight Engineer Members and a minimum number of "A" Pilot Members These minimum numbers are ascertained by a formula contained in this rule.

The rules do not provide for the eventuality of the minimum number of Flight Engineer Members and the minimum number of "A" Pilot Members being elected unopposed. Consequently, these candidates must be included in the ballot.

Stage 2:

Rule 39 – Nomination and Election of Officers. There is no provision in this rule for the resolution of a tied vote.

ROLL OF VOTERS

Total number of voters on the roll (Stage 1) 2180

Number of private addresses 2180 100%

ROLL OF VOTERS

Total number of voters on the roll (Stage 2) 40

Number of private addresses 40 100%

ALLEGATIONS OF IRREGULARITIES RECEIVED

There were no written complaints or allegations of irregularities

ATTACHMENTS

- A Declaration of Results for Stage 1
- B Declaration of Results for (uncontested) Stage 2
- C Declaration of Results for (contested) Stage 2

Roy Hill Returning Officer

22 December 2003

Australian and International Pilots Association

DECLARATION OF RESULTS FOR CONTESTED OFFICES

Results of the election for the following offices conducted in accordance with subsection 189(3) of Schedule 1B of the Workplace Relations Act 1996 and the rules of the organisation.

E No. 2003/221

Ballot papers issued	2181
Duplicate ballot papers issued	8
TOTAL BALLOT PAPERS ISSUED	2189
Ballot papers / envelopes returned for scrutiny	1416
Less ballot papers / envelopes rejected at preliminary scrutiny	7
TOTAL BALLOT PAPERS ADMITTED TO SCRUTINY	1409
Percentage of ballot papers returned to number issued	64
Ballot papers returned as unclaimed mail	18
Ballot papers not returned	755

Committee of Management (22)

<u>Candidates</u>	Votes
SUTTON, Georgina Louise	627
HOLT, David Patrick	747
DUGGAN, Garry John	522
GIUFFRIDA, Paul	603
WILLIAMS, Mark Sean	571
MARSHALL, Andrew	612
THOMSON, Max	316
GOODIER, Scott Laurence	515
MCDONALD, Graham W	361
FAULKNER, Mark Alan	453
SULLIVAN, Mark	502
THORPE, Peter James	515
SMITH, John William MCDONALD. Richard Ian	726 557
WOODS, Ian William	834
NEWNHAM, Michael Anthony	356
CLEARY, Graeme	440
MCCALLUM, Andrew Scott	576
PERCIVAL, Andrew William	724
WELCH, Bryan	649
STANDEN, Guy Douglas	653
DAVIDSON, Michael	403
WILSON, Christopher William	571
MCNEIL, Perry	487
HICKS, Matthew John	580
MCINNES, David Craig	576
SIROTE, Jerome David	841
WANSEY, James Hugo	486
PROUT, John Stanley	578
Formal votes	16381
Informal ballot papers	1

I declare Graeme Cleary, Garry John Duggan, Paul Giuffrida, Scott Laurence Goodier, Matthew John Hicks, David Patrick Holt, Andrew Marshall, Andrew Scott McCallum, Richard Ian McDonald, David Craig McInnes, Andrew William Percival, John Stanley Prout, Jerome David Sirote, John William Smith, Guy Douglas Standen, Mark Sullivan, Georgina Louise Sutton, Peter James Thorpe, Bryan Welch, Mark Sean Williams, Christopher William Wilson and Ian William Woods elected.

In accordance with Rule 20 of the registered rules of the Association, a minimum of one Flight Engineer and a minimum of one "A" Pilot must be elected to make up the minimum representation allowed for these groups. There were no nominations received for an "A" Pilot. The successful candidates are therefore made up of the highest polling Flight Engineer, together with the 21 highest polling non Flight Engineers.

Roy Hill Returning Officer Australian Electoral Commission 18 September 2003

Australian and International Pilots Association

DECLARATION OF RESULTS FOR UNCONTESTED OFFICES

Results of the election for the following offices conducted in accordance with subsection 189(3) of Schedule 1B of the Workplace Relations Act 1996 and the rules of the organisation.

E No2003/221

Vice President (Flight Engineers)

Candidate

STUDDERT, Wayne

Vice President ("A" Pilots)

Candidate

PICKERING, Allan Richard

Secretary

Candidate

HICKS, Matthew

As the number of nominations accepted did not exceed the number of positions to be filled, I declare the above candidates elected.

Roy Hill Returning Officer 13 October 2003

Australian and International Pilots Association Committee of Management

DECLARATION OF RESULTS FOR CONTESTED OFFICES

Results of the election for the following offices conducted in accordance with Sub-Section 189(3) of Schedule 1B of the Workplace Relations Act 1996 and the rules of the organisation.

E No. 2003/221 refers

Ballot papers issued	40
Duplicate ballot papers issued	0
TOTAL BALLOT PAPERS ISSUED	40
Ballot papers / envelopes returned for scrutiny	38
Less ballot papers / envelopes rejected at preliminary scrutiny	0
TOTAL BALLOT PAPERS ADMITTED TO SCRUTINY	38
Percentage of ballot papers returned to number issued	95
Ballot papers returned as unclaimed mail	0
Ballot papers not returned	2

President (1)

Candidates	<u>Votes</u>
BUTT, Murray William DUGGAN, Garry HOLT, Robin	13 9 16
Formal ballot papers Informal ballot papers	38 0

I declare Robin Holt elected.

Vice President (3)

Candidates	<u>Votes</u>
HOLT, David Patrick MACDONALD, John Andrew MCDONALD, Richard Ian MUGFORD, Peter James SIROTE, Jerome David WELCH, Bryan	13 20 21 13 13 34
Formal votes Informal ballot papers	114 0

I declare Bryan Welch, Richard Ian McDonald and John Andrew MacDonald elected.

Assistant Secretary (1)

<u>Candidates</u>	<u>Votes</u>
HICKS, Matthew MUGFORD, Peter James NORMAN, Lisa Jane	4 2 32
Formal ballot papers	38
Informal ballot papers	0

I declare Lisa Jane Norman elected.

Treasurer (1)

<u>Candidates</u>	<u>Votes</u>
MARSHALL, Andrew WOODS, Ian	26 12
Formal ballot papers	38
Informal ballot papers	0

I declare Andrew Marshall elected.

Roy Hill Returning Officer Australian Electoral Commission