Australian and International Pilots Association Committee of Management Election 2009

DECLARATION OF RESULTS FOR CONTESTED OFFICES

Results of the election for the following offices conducted in accordance with the provisions of the Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009 and the rules of the organisation.

F2009/10016

Australian and International Pilots Association

Total number of persons on the roll of voters	2438
Ballot papers issued	2438
Duplicate ballot papers issued	7
TOTAL BALLOT PAPERS ISSUED	2445
Ballot papers / envelopes returned for scrutiny	1173
Less ballot papers / envelopes rejected at preliminary scrutiny	11
Adjusting Balance	0
TOTAL BALLOT PAPERS ADMITTED TO SCRUTINY	1162
Percentage of ballot papers returned to number issued	47%
Ballot papers returned as unclaimed mail	12
Ballot papers not returned	1260

Committee of Management Member (20)

SAFE, Nathan 466 MACDONALD, John 525 BUSBY, Theron 408 OXLADE, Anthony 313 OWENS, Peter 402
BUSBY, Theron 408 OXLADE, Anthony 313
OXLADE, Anthony 313
OWENS, Peter 402
LIPSON, Jason
FITZSIMONS, Rick 357 MARR, Arthur 469
MARR, Arthur 469 WATLING, Chris 405
BACKHOUSE, David 559
BYERS, Tom 292
THOMSON, Maxford John 297
ANDERSON, Steven Richard 467
SMITH, Ian 516
RICH, Glenn 418
SUSZ, Adam 414
NEWMAN, Ben 341
LA DELLE, Grant Edward
WIRTH, James 624 LONEY, Shane 434
HAWLEY, Anthony 357
COULL, Andrew 408
HERSON, Eytan 455
Exhausted Votes 0
Loss/Gain by Fraction 0
Total votes 9642
Formal ballot papers 1159
Informal ballot papers 3

I declare Steven Richard Anderson, David Backhouse, Theron Busby, Andrew Coull, Rick Fitzsimons, Anthony Hawley, Eytan Herson, Grant Edward La Delle, Jason Lipson, Shane Loney, John MacDonald, Arthur Marr, Ben Newman, Peter Owens, Glenn Rich, Nathan Safe, Ian Smith, Adam Susz, Chris Watling and James Wirth elected.

Noopur Madan Returning Officer Australian Electoral Commission

9 October 2009





Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009

POST ELECTION REPORT

Client: Australian and International Pilots Association

Contact details: Capt Barry Jackson

Email: office@aipa.org.au **Tel:** 02 8307 7777 President

Suite 601, Level 6 Coward St

MASCOT NSW 2020

Email: lcynthia.lobooth@fwa.gov.au AIR contact officer: Cynthia Lo-Booth

Tel: 103 8661 7989

ELECTIONS COVERED IN THIS REPORT

Election Decision No/s: E2009/10016

RULES

Rules used for elections Rule ID: [127 N Incorporates alterations of 14/01/2009]

[R2008/461]

Replaces rulebook dated 02/01/2008

Rules difficult to apply/interpret:

Nil

ROLL OF VOTERS

Total number of voters on the roll 2438

Number of apparent workplace addresses 0 0 %

Number of non-current addresses 0 0 %

Other Matters Nil

ALLEGATIONS OF IRREGULARITIES RECEIVED

Details of written allegations of irregularities, and action taken by AEC: None

Other irregularities identified, and action taken:

None

ATTACHMENTS

Declaration of Contested Offices A:

Noopur Madan Returning Officer 20 October 2009



DECISION

Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009 s.189 – Arrangement for conduct of an election

Australian and International Pilots Association (E2009/10016)

T. NASSIOS

MELBOURNE, 22 JULY 2009

Arrangement for conduct of election.

[1] On 20 July 2009 the abovenamed organisation lodged with Fair Work Australia the prescribed information in relation to an election for the following offices:

Committee of Management Members (20)

[2] I am satisfied that an election for the abovenamed offices is required to be held under the rules of the organisation and, under subsection 189(3) of the *Fair Work* (*Registered Organisations*) *Act 2009*, I am making arrangements for the conduct of the election by the Australian Electoral Commission.



Delegate of the General Manager Fair Work Australia

Printed by authority of the Commonwealth Government Printer

<Price code A, PR988005 >



Australian & International Pilots Association ABN 39 66% 191 853

Suite 601, Level 6 Mascot NSW 2020

Tel: +61 2 8307 7777 243-249 Coward Street Fax: +61 2 8307 7799 office@aipa.org.au www.aipa.org.au

Locked Bag 747 Botany NSW 1455

20 July 2009

The General Manager Fair Work Australia 80 William Street SYDNEY NSW 2000

By email: terry.nassios@fwa.gov.au

Att: Terry Nassios

Arrangements for the conduct of an election in accordance with section 189 of the Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009

Pursuant to Section 189(1) of the Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009 ("Act") and Regulation 138 of the Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Regulations 2009, I hereby lodge the following prescribed information concerning the 2009-2010 Committee of Management elections for the Australian and International Pilots Association (AIPA).

Regulation 138(1)

- (a) The name of each office in respect of which an election is required
- 20 Committee of Management members
- (b) The reason for the election
 - (i) With respect to 20 of the Committee of Management members, their term of office will expire (pursuant to Rule 40(a)(i) and Rule 56A) of AIPA's Rules.
- (c) The number of offices

As set out in (a) above. The Committee of Management consists of forty (40) members. A half election is held each two years out of three to elect approximately twenty (20) members.

The electorate of each office (d)

The electorate for the Committee of Management positions is the total financial membership of AIPA.

(e) The date and time of the commencement and expiration of the nomination period as set out in the rules of the organisation

Nominations for the Committee of Management member positions are called on or about the 119th day before the second Tuesday in November, and for the current year the relevant date is **14 July 2009**. Nominations close at 1200 hours on or about the 98th day before the second Tuesday in November each year, and for the current year the relevant date is **4 August 2009** (Rule 38).

(f) The day on which the roll of voters is to be closed

The roll of voters closes on or around the 126th day before the second Tuesday in November each year and for the current year the relevant date was **7 July 2009** (pursuant to Rule 38(a)).

(g) The voting system to be employed in the conduct of the election

The voting system for Committee of Management positions will be a direct voting system. Elections are by secret postal ballot.

We look forward to receiving the Registrar's decision that an election for the abovenamed offices is required to be held under AIPA's Rules and advice that arrangements are being made for the conduct of the election by the Australian Electoral Commission.

If you require further information or wish to discuss the matter, please contact Philip van den Heever at the address shown above.

Yours sincerely,

Capt Barry Jackson

President

Ph: (02) 8307 7777 Fax: (02) 8307 7799 Email: office@aipa.org.au