Ms Susan Hopgood Federal Secretary Australian Education Union PO Box 363 ABBOTSFORD VIC 3067

Post Election Report For: Australian Education Union Election E2013/265

I refer to the above election for your organisation.

Section 197(1) of Schedule 1 of the Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009 requires the AEC to provide a written report on the conduct of the election to Fair Work Australia and to the organisation or branch for whom the election was conducted. A copy of the report in relation to this election is attached.

Section 198 of Schedule 1 requires that if an organisation or branch is given a post election report under section 197 that identifies a rule that was difficult to interpret or apply, the organisation or branch must, within 30 days, give a written response to the AEC on that aspect of the report. The response must specify whether the organisation or branch intends to take any action in relation to the rule, and if so, what action it intends to take.

If the attached Report identifies a rule that was difficult to interpret or apply, you should forward your response to the AEC by email to 'industrial.elections@aec.gov.au' within thirty days of the date of the report.

Section 198 and the regulations also require an organisation to make the post election report and the organisation's response to the report (if applicable) available to members.

Further, Regulation 141(4) of the Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009 requires an organisation or branch to publish a notice on its web site advising members that a copy of the post election report is available upon request. If a website is not available, publishing a notice in a journal or newsletter would be considered appropriate.

Please contact me if you wish to clarify any aspect of this report.

Jeff Webb Returning Officer

9 December 2013

Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009

POST ELECTION REPORT

Australian Education Union

ELECTION/S COVERED IN THIS REPORT

Election Decision No/s: E2013/265

RULES

Rules used for the election: [284v: Incorporates alterations of 16/11/2012 -

R2012/99 & R2012/164]

(replaces 19/10/2012 - R2012/140 version)

Rules difficult to apply/interpret: None

Model Rule reference (if any): N/A

ROLL OF VOTERS

Total number of voters on the Roll: Nil

Number of apparent workplace addresses: Nil

Number of non-current addresses: Nil

Other matters pertaining to the roll of voters: Nil

IRREGULARITIES

Details of written allegations of irregularities, Nil

and action taken by AEC:

Other irregularities identified, and action taken: Nil

ATTACHMENTS

1. Uncontested Declaration

Jeff Webb Returning Officer

9 December 2013

- Australian Education Union Federal Offices

Declaration of Results for Uncontested Offices

E2013/265

Below are the results of the election for the following offices, conducted in accordance with the provisions of the Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009 and the rules of the organisation.

National

Federal President

Candidates

GAVRIELATOS, Angelo

Deputy Federal President

Candidates

HAYTHORPE, Correna

Federal Secretary

Candidates

HOPGOOD, Susan

Deputy Federal Secretary

Candidates

FORWARD, Patricia

International Trust Fund Committee Member (6)

Candidates

BYRNE, Pat MAJOR, Jack MOLONEY, Graham PEACE, Meredith RAJENDRA, Henry No further nomination was accepted

Federal TAFE President

Candidates

PURDY, Michelle

As the number of nominations accepted did not exceed the number of positions to be filled, I declare the above candidates elected.

Jeff Webb Returning Officer

3 December 2013





DECISION

Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009 s.189—Arrangement for conduct of an election

Australian Education Union

(E2013/265)

MR ENRIGHT

MELBOURNE, 6 SEPTEMBER 2013

Arrangement for conduct of election.

[1] On 4 September 2013 the Australian Education Union lodged with the Fair Work Commission the prescribed information in relation to an election for the following offices:

Federal President
Deputy Federal President
Federal Secretary
Deputy Federal Secretary
International Trust Fund Committee Members (6)
Federal TAFE President

[2] I am satisfied that an election for the abovenamed offices is required to be held under the rules of the organisation and, under subsection 189(3) of the *Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009*, I am making arrangements for the conduct of the election by the Australian Electoral Commission.



DELEGATE OF THE GENERAL MANAGER

Printed by authority of the Commonwealth Government Printer

<Price code A, PR541358>



Australian Education Union

Federal Office

Phone: +61 (0)3 9693 1800 Fax: +61 (0)3 9693 1805 Email: aeu@aeufederal.org.au

Web: www.aeufederal.org.au

4 September 2013

PO Box 1158, South Melbourne, Victoria, 3205 Federal Secretary: Susan Hopgood Federal President: Angelo Gavrielatos

Ground Floor, 120 Clarendon Street, Southbank, Victoria, 3006

Ref: 031.001.001

Ms Bernadette O'Neill General Manager Fair Work Commission **GPO Box 1994** Melbourne VIC 3001

Email: orgs@fwc.gov.au

Dear Ms O'Neill,

Statement: Prescribed Information: Section 189(1) of the RAO Schedule of the Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009

In accordance with Section 189(1) of the Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009 and Regulation 138, I wish to lodge the following prescribed information in relation to elections which are required to be held for the undermentioned offices in this Union. I am the Federal Secretary of the AEU and am authorised to lodge this prescribed information.

Names of Offices:

Federal President	1 Feb 2014 – 31 Jan 2016
Deputy Federal President	1 Feb 2014 – 31 Jan 2016
Federal Secretary	1 Feb 2014 – 31 Jan 2018
Deputy Federal Secretary	1 Feb 2014 – 31 Jan 2018
Six (6) members of the International Trust Fund Committee	1 Feb 2014 – 31 Jan 2016
Federal TAFE President	1 Feb 2014 – 31 Jan 2016

Reason for the Election:

The terms of office for the above positions expire on 31 January 2014.

Date and Times:

Rules 37, 38 and 39 specify the dates and times for the holding of the election of the Federal Officers and, by virtue of Rule 67 (5) (a) and (b), the International Trust Fund Committee.

Rules 56 and 57 specify the times and procedures in relation to the election of the Federal TAFE President. The National TAFE Council has made no Rules which differ from the provisions of Rules 37 and 38.

Rule 38 establishes the timetable for the elections, namely that nominations open no later than 15 November 2013 and close by 5.00pm on 30 November 2013.

Rule 39 sets out the procedures to be followed in relation to the election. Please note that Rule 39(25)(b) enables the Federal Executive to request the returning officer to arrange the conduct of a ballot at the meeting of the AEU's Annual Federal Conference, if it is being held in the month of January.

As the 2014 AEU Annual Federal Conference will be held on 21 - 23 February 2014 and the National TAFE Council AGM will be held on 11 - 13 April 2014, this rule will not apply to these elections.

Electorate:

The electorate for the election of the Federal President, Deputy Federal President, Federal Secretary, Deputy Federal Secretary and the six members of the International Trust Fund Committee is the Federal Conference Delegates elected for the term 2014 - 2015 in elections currently being held and includes the incumbent Officers occupying the positions of Federal President, Deputy Federal President, Federal Secretary and Deputy Federal Secretary.

The electorate for the positions of Federal TAFE President is the National TAFE Council elected for the term 2014 – 2015 in elections currently being held and includes the incumbent officers occupying the positions of Federal TAFE President and Federal TAFE Secretary.

Voting System:

The voting system shall be a collegiate electorate system in all cases.

Yours sincerely,

Susan Hopgood Federal Secretary

Mopgovel