Australian Education Union Tasmanian Branch Vacancies April 2012

DECLARATION OF RESULTS FOR UNCONTESTED OFFICES

Results of the election for the following offices conducted in accordance with the provisions of the *Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009* and the rules of the organisation.

E2012/253&254

General Division, Allied Staff Sector Branch Council Delegate, General Division Sector - Allied Staff (6)

Candidates

BURRELL, Sharon WALL, Samantha Kate No further nominations were accepted

Rosny College Sub-branch Rosny College Sub-branch Secretary, General Division

Candidate

HOLMES, Suzette

Elizabeth College Sub-branch Elizabeth College Sub-branch Secretary, General Division

No nomination was received

Launceston College Sub-branch Launceston College Sub-branch Secretary, General Division

No nomination was received

Newstead College Sub-branch Newstead College Sub-branch Secretary, General Division

Candidate

THOMAS, Patricia

Don College Sub-branch

Don College Sub-branch Secretary, General Division

No nomination was received

Hellyer College Sub-branch Hellyer College Sub-branch Secretary, General Division

No nomination was received

TAFE Division TAFE Division Vice President

<u>Candidate</u> PINNER, Shane

TAFE Division Women's Officer

No nomination was received

TAFE Division Adult Education Institute Representative

No nomination was received

Branch Council Delegate, TAFE Division

No nomination was received

National TAFE Council Delegate

Candidate PINNER, Shane

Hobart Sub-branch Hobart Sub-branch Delegate to TAFE Division Council (3)

No nominations were received

Clarence Sub-branch Clarence Sub-branch Secretary, TAFE Division

No nomination was received

Launceston Sub-branch Launceston Sub-branch Delegate to TAFE Division Executive

No nomination was received

Launceston Sub-branch Delegate to TAFE Division Council (5)

No nominations were received

Devonport Sub-branch Devonport Sub-branch Delegate to TAFE Division Council (2)

No nominations were received

Burnie Sub-branch Burnie Sub-branch Secretary, TAFE Division

No nomination was received

Burnie Sub-branch Delegate to TAFE Division Council

No nomination was received

Drysdale Sub-branch Drysdale Sub-branch Delegate to TAFE Division Council

No nomination was received

Bender/Claremont Sub-branch Bender Drive/Claremont Sub-branch Secretary, TAFE Division

No nomination was received

As the number of nominations accepted did not exceed the number of positions to be filled, I declare the above candidates elected.

Dale Emery Returning Officer 23 May 2012



FAIR WORK Australia

DECISION

Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009 s.189 – Arrangement for conduct of an election

Australian Education Union (E2012/254)

T. NASSIOS

MELBOURNE, 28 MARCH 2012

Arrangement for conduct of election.

[1] On 26 March 2012 the Australian Education Union lodged with Fair Work Australia the prescribed information relation to an election to fill a casual vacancy, for the remainder of the term of office, in the following office:

Tasmanian Branch

National TAFE Council Delegate

[2] I am satisfied that an election for the abovenamed offices is required to be held under the rules of the organisation and, under subsection 189(3) of the *Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009*, I am making arrangements for the conduct of the election by the Australian Electoral Commission.



DELEGATE OF THE GENERAL MANAGER FAIR WORK AUSTRALIA

Printed by authority of the Commonwealth Government Printer

<Price code A, PR521765 >



Australian Education Union

Ground Floor, 120 Clarendon Street, Southbank, Victoria, 3006 PO Box 1158, South Melbourne, Victoria, 3205 Federal Secretary : Susan Hopgood Federal President : Angelo Gavrielatos Phone : +61 (0)3 9693 1800 Fax : +61 (0)3 9693 1805 Email : aeu@aeufederal.org.au Web : www.aeufederal.org.au

Federal Office

26 March 2012

Ref: 031.001.001

Ms Bernadette O'Neill General Manager Fair Work Australia GPO Box 1994 Melbourne VIC 3001 Email: orgs@fwa.gov.au

Dear Ms O'Neill,

Statement: Prescribed Information: Section 189(1) of the RAO Schedule of the Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009

In accordance with Section 189(1) of the RAO Schedule of the Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009 and Regulation 138, I wish to lodge the following prescribed information in relation to elections which are required to be held for the undermentioned offices in this Union. I am the Deputy Federal Secretary of the AEU and am authorised to lodge this prescribed information.

Name of Office:

One (1) National TAFE Council delegate representing the Tasmanian Branch. *1 January 2012 - 31 December 2013.*

Reason for the Election:

This election is required due to the election of Michelle Purdy, National TAFE Council delegate, Tasmanian Branch, to the position of Federal TAFE President. A copy of the AEC declaration is attached for your information.

Date and Times:

Federal Rule 47 (6) and (7) are the relevant rules for the filling of a casual vacancy on the National TAFE Council, due to the election of a delegate to the position of Federal TAFE President. Federal Rule 54 refers to the election of National TAFE Council Delegates.

Electorate:

The electorate is the financial members assigned to the TAFE Division of the Tasmanian Branch.

Voting System:

The voting system shall be a direct voting system.

The relevant person to contact for lists of members and other necessary information in relation to this election is Chris Lane, Branch Manager, AEU Tasmanian Branch, P.O. Box 117, Hobart North, 7002.

Yours sincerely,

Russell

Darcel Russell Deputy Federal Secretary

Australian Education Union Federal Offices

DECLARATION OF RESULTS FOR UNCONTESTED AND CONTESTED OFFICES

Results of the election for the following offices conducted in accordance with the provisions of the *Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009* and the rules of the organisation.

E2011/2667 National

Total number of persons on the roll of voters	36
Ballot papers issued	36
Duplicate ballot papers issued	2
TOTAL BALLOT PAPERS ISSUED	38
Ballot papers / envelopes returned for scrutiny	32
Less ballot papers / envelopes rejected at preliminary scrutiny	0
TOTAL BALLOT PAPERS ADMITTED TO SCRUTINY	32
Percentage of ballot papers returned to number issued	84%
Ballot papers returned as unclaimed mail	1
Ballot papers not returned	5

Federal TAFE President

Candidates	First Preference Votes	<u>Votes</u>
DE GRAAFF, Peter	8	8
PURDY, Michelle	24	24
Total votes	32	32
Formal ballot papers	32	32
Informal ballot papers	0	0
	0	Ŭ

I declare Michelle Purdy elected.

Federal President

<u>Candidate</u> GAVRIELATOS, Angelo I declare Angelo Gavrielatos elected.

Deputy Federal President

Candidate

BLUETT, Mary I declare Mary Bluett elected. International Trust Fund Committee Member (6)

Candidates

BLUETT, Mary GISBORNE, Anne MAJOR, Jack MOLONEY, Graham John RAJENDRA, Henry

I declare Mary Bluett, Anne Gisborne, Jack Major, Graham John Moloney and Henry Rajendra elected. No other nominations received.

Federal TAFE Secretary Candidate

FORWARD, Pat I declare Pat Forward elected.

Jeff Webb Returning Officer Australian Electoral Commission 11 January 2012