Australian Education Union ATSIC Committee Member (General Division)

DECLARATION OF RESULTS FOR UNCONTESTED OFFICE

Results of the election for the following offices conducted in accordance with the provisions of the Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009 and the rules of the organisation.

E2010/2685

Victorian Branch

National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Committee (General Division) Member

No nomination was received

Shane T Lanning Returning Officer

9 December 2010



DECISION

Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009 s.189 – Arrangement for conduct of an election

Australian Education Union (E2010/2685)

T. NASSIOS

MELBOURNE, 17 NOVEMBER 2010

Arrangement for conduct of election.

[1] On 28 October 2010 the Australian Education Union lodged with Fair Work Australia the prescribed information in relation to an election for the following office:

Victorian Branch

National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Education Committee (General Division) Member (due to no nominations received at previous election)

[2] I am satisfied that an election for the abovenamed office is required to be held under the rules of the organisation and, under subsection 189(3) of the *Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009*, I am making arrangements for the conduct of the election by the Australian Electoral Commission.



<u>DELEGATE OF THE GENERAL MANAGER</u> <u>FAIR WORK AUSTRALIA</u>

Printed by authority of the Commonwealth Government Printer

<Price code A, PR503979 >



Australian Education Union

Federal Office

Ground Floor, 120 Clarendon Street, Southbank, Victoria, 3006 Federal Secretary: Susan Hopgood Federal President: Angelo Gavrielatos Phone: +61 (0)3 9693 1800 Fax: +61 (0)3 9693 1805 Email: aeu@aeufederal.org.au Web: www.aeufederal.org.au

28 October 2010

Mr Tim Lee General Manager Fair Work Australia GPO Box 1994 Melbourne VIC 3001

Email: orgs@fwa.gov.au

Dear Mr Lee,

Statement: Prescribed Information: Section 189(1) of the Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009

In accordance with Section 189 (1) of the of the Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009 and Regulation 138, I wish to lodge the following prescribed information in relation to an election for a casual vacancy for the undermentioned office.

I am the Deputy Federal Secretary of the AEU and am authorised to lodge this prescribed information.

Name of Office:

One (1) National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Committee (General Division) Member representing the Victorian Branch.

Term of Office:

The person elected shall hold office until 31st December 2011.

Reason for the Election:

The election is required due to no nominations being received for the vacant position of National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Education Committee (General Division) member representing the Victorian Branch in the AEU election E2009/10014, declared on the 10 September 2009. The AEC declaration is attached.

This position appears to have been inadvertently omitted from the AEU National Committees recall of elections for the Victorian Branch (refer to AEU Victorian Branch Rule 57 (1) (d), giving the returning officer the power to recall nominations for remaining unfilled positions for these elections). The recalled elections were declared on the 26 November 2009. The declaration for these elections is also attached.

From the declarations, it appears that the already filled position of National Early Childhood Committee (General Division) Member was recalled instead of the vacant position of National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Education Committee (General Division) member.

Electorate:

The electorate is the financial members assigned to the General Division of the Victorian Branch except that the nominated member and the nominators must be Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander members.

Date and Times:

AEU Federal Rule 73 establishes the dates and times for the election of the National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Education Committee (General Division).

AEU Victorian Federal Branch Rule 54A is the relevant branch rule regarding the timetable for this election.

The roll of voters is closed seven days before the day on which nominations open for this election.

Voting System:

The voting system shall be a direct voting system.

Russell

The Branch Secretary to contact for lists of members and other necessary information in relation to this election is Brian Henderson, Secretary, AEU Victorian Branch, PO Box 363, Abbotsford, 3067.

Yours sincerely,

Darcel Russell

Deputy Federal Secretary

Australian Education Union National Committees RECALL

DECLARATION OF RESULTS FOR UNCONTESTED OFFICES

Results of the election for the following offices conducted in accordance with the provisions of the Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009 and the rules of the organisation

Victorian Branch
National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Committee (TAFE Division) Member
No nomination was received
National Early Childhood Committee (General Division) Member
No nomination was received
National Principal Committee (General Division) Member
Candidate
ROSE, Paul
As the number of nominations accepted did not exceed the number of positions to be filled, I declare the above candidates elected.
Danielle Paterson Returning Officer
26 November 2009
·

Australian Education Union National Committees

DECLARATION OF RESULTS

Results of the election for the following offices conducted in accordance with the provisions of the Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009 and the rules of the organisation.

E2009/10014

Victorian Branch

National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Committee (General Division) Member

No nomination was received

National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Committee (TAFE Division) Member

No nomination was received

National Principal Committee (General Division) Member

No nomination was received

National Early Childhood Committee (General Division) Member

Candidate

QUINN, Shayne

As the number of nominations accepted did not exceed the number of positions to be filled, I declare the above candidates elected.

Danielle Paterson Returning Officer

10 September 2009