Workplace Relations Act 1996 s.189 of Schedule 1 - arrangement for conduct of an election

Australian Hotels Association

(E2007/132)

T. NASSIOS DEPUTY INDUSTRIAL REGISTRAR

MELBOURNE, 13 MARCH 2007

Arrangement for conduct of election.

DECISION

[1] On 2 February 2007, the Northern Territory Branch of the abovenamed organisation lodged in the Industrial Registry the prescribed information in relation to elections for the following offices;

Branch President / Delegate to National Board Branch Senior Vice President Branch Vice President Branch Secretary Branch Treasurer

Northern Territory Accommodation Hotels Division representative (1)

Board Members from the following Divisions:

Darwin Division:

- (a) Hotels 3 Divisional Representatives
- (b) Accommodation 2 Divisional Representatives
- (c) Clubs 1 Divisional Representative

Alice Springs & Ayers Rock Division:

- (a) Hotels 1 Divisional Representative
- (b) Accommodation 1 Divisional Representative
- (c) Clubs 1 Divisional Representative

Regional Towns (Katherine, Tennant Creek, Jabiru and Gove) Division:

- (a) Hotels 1 Divisional Representative
- (b) Accommodation 1 Divisional Representative
- (c) Clubs 1 Divisional Representative

Wayside Inns Division: - 2 Divisional Representatives

[2] I am satisfied that elections for the abovenamed offices are required to be held under the rules of the organisation and, under subsection 189(3) of Schedule 1 of the Workplace Relations Act 1996, I am making arrangements for the conduct of the elections by the Australian Electoral Commission.



Printed by authority of the Commonwealth Government Printer



AUSTRALIAN HOTELS ASSOCIATION

Telephone: (08) 8981 3650 Facsimile: (08) 8981 5754 20/24 Cavenagh Street Darwin Northern ferritory 0800 PO Box 3270 Darwin Northern Territory 0801 admin@ahant.com.au

2 February 2007

The Industrial Registrar GPO Box 1994S MELBOURNE VIC 3001

BY FACSIMILE: 03 96550410

Attention: Mr. Robert Pfciffer

Dear Sir,

RE: UPCOMING ELECTION – AUSTRALIAN HOTELS ASSOCIATION NORTHERN TERRITORY BRANCH

In accordance with Section 189(1) of the RAO Schedule of the *Workplace Relations* Act 1996 and Regulation 138, 1 wish to lodge the following prescribed information in relation to an election which is due in the Australian Hotels Association Northern Territory Branch.

I am the President of the Australian Hotels Association Northern Territory Branch and am authorized to lodge this prescribed information.

Names of Office or Position for which election required: Board members from the following Divisions:

(1) Darwin

- (a) Hotels 3 Divisional Representatives
- (b) Accommodation 2 Divisional Representatives
- (c) Clubs 1 Divisional Representative

(2) Alice Springs & Ayers Rock

- (a) Hotels 1 Divisional Representative
- (b) Accommodation I Divisional Representative
- (c) Clubs 1 Divisional Representative
- (3) Regional Towns (Katherine, Tennant Creek, Jabiru and Gove)
 - (a) Hotels 1 Divisional Representative
 - (b) Accommodation 1 Divisional Representative
 - (c) Clubs 1 Divisional Representative













The Industrial Registrar

(4) Wayside Inns – 2 Divisional Representatives

Executive to be elected by and from the Board:

- (1) Branch President / Delegate to National Board
- (2) Branch Senior Vice President
- (3) Branch Vice-President
- (4) Branch Secretary
- (5) Branch Treasurer

The following position Pursuant to Rule 42 of the national rules of the Australian Hotels Association is also required:

Accommodation Hotels Division

(a) 1 Northern Territory Representative to the AHA National Accommodation Division Board

<u>Reason for Election</u> Election is required to be conducted annually.

The term of office is due to expire in the normal course of events

<u>Electorate</u>

The electorate is the financial members of the Australian Hotels Association Northern Territory Branch.

Nominations Nominations shall close no later than 1 April 2007

Closure of Voting Rolls

The roll of voters is closed seven days before the day on which nominations for the election open.

Voting System

The voting system for the Board positions is a direct voting system. The voting system for the Executive is the collegiate electoral system.

Should you require any further information, please do not hesitate to contact Mr Tony Watkins, Acting Executive Director on 08 8981 3650.

Yours faithfully

Mick Burns President