## Workplace Relations Act 1996 s.189 RAO Schedule - arrangement for conduct of an election

# **Australian Hotels Association** (E2008/114)

## T. NASSIOS DEPUTY INDUSTRIAL REGISTRAR

MELBOURNE, 6 FEBRUARY 2008

PR980589

Arrangement for conduct of election.

#### **DECISION**

[1] On 30 January 2008 the Northern Territory Branch of the abovenamed organisation lodged in the Industrial Registry the prescribed information in relation to elections for the following offices:

Branch President/Delegate to National Board

Branch Senior Vice President

**Branch Vice President** 

**Branch Secretary** 

**Branch Treasurer** 

National Accommodation Hotels Division Representative

Divisional Representatives to Board from following Divisions:

#### Darwin Division:

- (a) Hotels (3)
- (b) Accommodation (2)
- (c) Clubs (1)

Alice Springs & Ayers Rock Division

- (a) Hotels (1)
- (b) Accommodation (1)
- (c) Clubs (1)

Regional Towns (Katherine, Tennant Creek, Jabiru and Gove) Division

- (a) Hotels (1)
- (b) Accommodation (1)
- (c) Clubs (1)

Wayside Inns Division (2)

[2] I am satisfied that elections for the abovenamed offices are required to be held under the rules of the organisation and, under subsection 189(3) of Schedule 1 of the *Workplace Relations Act 1996*, I am making arrangements for the conduct of the election by the Australian Electoral Commission.





## AUSTRALIAN HOTELS ASSOCIATION



Telephone: (08) 8981 3650 Facsimile: (08) 8981 5754 20/24 Cavenagh Street Darwin Northern Territory 0800 PO Box 3270 Darwin Northern Territory 0801 admin@ahant.com.au www.ahant.com.au

30 January 2008

### By facsimile

(03) 9655 0410

The Industrial Registrar Australian Industrial Registry GPO Box 1994S MELBOURNE VIC 3001

Attention: Robert Pfeiffer

Dear Sir,

## Upcoming Election - Australian Hotels Association Northern Territory Branch

In accordance with section 189(1) of the RAO Schedule of the Workplace Relations Act 1996 and Regulation 138, I lodge the following prescribed information in relation to the upcoming election of Board members of the Australian Hotels Association Northern Territory Branch.

I am the President of the Australian Hotels Association Northern Territory Branch and am authorised to lodge the prescribed information.

#### Names of Office or Position for which election required

Board members from the following Divisions:

- (1) Darwin Division
  - (a) Hotels 3 Divisional Representatives
  - (b) Accommodation 2 Divisional Representatives
  - (c) Clubs 1 Divisional Representative
- (2) Alice Springs & Ayers Rock Division
  - (a) Hotels 1 Divisional Representative
  - (b) Accommodation 1 Divisional Representative
  - (c) Clubs 1 Divisional Representative
- (3) Regional Towns Division (Katherine, Tennant Creek, Jabiru and Gove)
  - (a) Hotels 1 Divisional Representative













- (b) Accommodation 1 Divisional Representative
- (c) Clubs 1 Divisional Representative
- (4) Wayside Inn Division 2 Divisional Representatives

The Executive Committee to be elected by and from the Board:

- (1) Branch President / Delegate to National Board
- (2) Branch Senior Vice-President
- (3) Branch Vice-President
- (4) Branch Secretary
- (5) Branch Treasurer

The following position pursuant to Rule 42 of the National Rules of the Australian Hotels Association is also required:

 NT Accommodation Hotels Division - 1 Representative to the AHA National Accommodation Division Board

## Reason for Election

Election is required to be conducted annually.

The term of office is due to expire in the normal course of events

#### Electorate

The electorate is the financial members of the Australian Hotels Association Northern Territory Branch.

## Nominations

Nominations shall close no later than 1 April 2007

#### Closure of Voting Rolls

The roll of voters is closed 7 days before the day on which nominations for the election open.

## Voting System

The voting system for the Board positions is a direct voting system. The voting system for the Executive is the collegiate electoral system.

If you require any further information, please contact Amy Williamson, Executive Director, by telephone on 08 8981 3650.

Yours faithfully

Michael Burns President