# Australian Hotels Association NT Branch Collegiate Election 2012 - Stage 2

# **DECLARATION OF RESULTS FOR UNCONTESTED OFFICES**

Results of the election for the following office conducted in accordance with the provisions of the Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009 and the rules of the organisation.

E2012/227		

# Branch President/Delegate to National Board

SALLIS, Doug

Candidate

#### **Branch Senior Vice-President**

Candidate

BURNS, Michael

#### **Branch Vice-President**

Candidate

FAHEY, Noel

### **Branch Secretary**

Candidate

PRYDE, Fiona

# **Branch Treasurer**

Candidate

COLEMAN, Justin

As the number of nominations accepted did not exceed the number of positions to be filled, I declare the above candidates elected.

Geoff Bloom Returning Officer

11 May 2012

# Australian Hotels Association Scheduled Election

#### **DECLARATION OF RESULTS FOR UNCONTESTED AND CONTESTED OFFICES**

Results of the election for the following offices conducted in accordance with the provisions of the Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009 and the rules of the organisation.

E2012/227

#### **Darwin Division**

**Hotels - Divisional Representative (3)** 

**Candidates** 

BURNS, Mick COLEMAN, Justin SALLIS, Douglas

I declare Mick Burns, Justin Coleman and Douglas Sallis elected.

#### Accommodation - Divisional Representative (2)

Candidate

PRYDE, Fiona

I declare Fiona Pryde elected. No other nominations received.

#### **Clubs - Divisional Representative**

Candidate

FAHEY, Noel

I declare Noel Fahey elected.

# **Alice Springs & Ayers Rock Division**

**Hotels - Divisional Representative** 

Candidate

LOECHEL, Ray

I declare Ray Loechel elected.

### **Accommodation - Divisional Representative**

Candidate

JERVIS, Craig

I declare Craig Jervis elected.

# **Clubs - Divisional Representative**

Candidate

BOOTH, Geoffrey

I declare Geoffrey Booth elected.

# Regional Towns (Katherine, Tennant Creek, Jabiru & Gove) Division

#### **Hotels - Divisional Representative**

#### Candidate

ADAMS, Anthony Paul

I declare Anthony Paul Adams elected.

#### **Accommodation - Divisional Representative**

#### Candidate

GYLES, Dave

I declare Dave Gyles elected.

# **Clubs - Divisional Representative**

#### **Candidate**

DALTON, Frank

I declare Frank Dalton elected.

# **Wayside Inns Division**

Total number of persons on the roll of voters	21
Ballot papers issued	21
Duplicate ballot papers issued	0
TOTAL BALLOT PAPERS ISSUED	21
Ballot papers / envelopes returned for scrutiny	6
Less ballot papers / envelopes rejected at preliminary scrutiny	0
TOTAL BALLOT PAPERS ADMITTED TO SCRUTINY	6
Percentage of ballot papers returned to number issued	28%
Ballot papers returned as unclaimed mail	0
Ballot papers not returned	15

# Wayside Inns - Divisional Representative (2)

<u>Candidates</u>	<u>Votes</u>
SEVERIN, Peter	4
SIMPSON, Scott Andrew	3
CARMICHAEL, Lindsay	4
Exhausted Votes	1
Formal primary votes	11
Primary votes each ballot paper	Divided by 2
Formal ballot papers	6
Informal ballot papers	0

I declare Lindsay Carmichael and Peter Severin elected.

#### **Accommodation Hotels Division**

#### **National Accommodation Hotels Division Representative**

#### Candidates

No nomination was received

No candidates elected.

#### Geoff Bloom

Returning Officer

Australian Electoral Commission

17/04/2012



# **DECISION**

Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009 s.189 – Arrangement for conduct of an election

# **Australian Hotels Association**

(E2012/227)

T. NASSIOS

MELBOURNE, 9 FEBRUARY 2012

Arrangement for conduct of election.

[1] On 6 February 2012 the Australian Hotels Association - Northern Territory Branch lodged with Fair Work Australia the prescribed information in relation to an election for the following offices:

Divisional Representatives to the Board from the following Divisions:

**Darwin Division** 

- (a) Hotels (3)
- (b) Accommodation (2)
- (c) Clubs (1)

Alice Springs & Ayres Rock Division

- (a) Hotels (1)
- (b) Accommodation (1)
- (c) Clubs (1)

Regional Towns Division (Katherine, Tennant Creek, Jabiru and Gove)

- (a) Hotels (1)
- (b) Accommodation (1)
- (c) Clubs (1)

Wayside Inns Division (2)

Branch President/Delegate to National Board

**Branch Senior Vice-President** 

**Branch Vice-President** 

**Branch Secretary** 

**Branch Treasurer** 

National Accommodation Hotels Division Board Representative

[2] I am satisfied that an election for the abovenamed offices is required to be held under the rules of the organisation and, under subsection 189(3) of the *Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009*, I am making arrangements for the conduct of the election by the Australian Electoral Commission.



# <u>DELEGATE OF THE ACTING GENERAL MANAGER</u> <u>FAIR WORK AUSTRALIA</u>

Printed by authority of the Commonwealth Government Printer

<Price code A, PR519990 >





Telephone: (08) 8981 3650 Facsimile: (08) 8981 5754 20/24 Cavenagh Street Darwin Northern Territory 0800 GPO Box 3270 Darwin Northern Territory 0801 admin@ahant.com.au www.ahant.com.au

6 February 2012

# By facsimile - (03) 9655 0410

Tribunal Services and Organisations Fair Work Australia GPO Box 1994 MELBOURNE VIC 3001

Dear Sir / Madam,

# Upcoming Election - Australian Hotels Association Northern Territory Branch

In accordance with section 189(1) of the Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009 and Regulation 138, I lodge the following prescribed information in relation to the upcoming election of Board members of the Australian Hotels Association Northern Territory Branch.

As President of the Australian Hotels Association Northern Territory Branch, I am authorised to lodge the prescribed information:

### Names of Office or Position for which election required

Board members from the following Divisions:

- (1) Darwin Division
  - (a) Hotels 3 Divisional Representatives
  - (b) Accommodation 2 Divisional Representatives
  - (c) Clubs 1 Divisional Representative
- (2) Alice Springs & Ayers Rock Division
  - (a) Hotels 1 Divisional Representative
  - (b) Accommodation 1 Divisional Representative
  - (c) Clubs 1 Divisional Representative
- (3) Regional Towns Division (Katherine, Tennant Creek, Jabiru and Gove)
  - (a) Hotels 1 Divisional Representative











- (b) Accommodation 1 Divisional Representative
- (c) Clubs 1 Divisional Representative
- (4) Wayside Inn Division 2 Divisional Representatives

The Executive Committee to be elected by and from the Board:

- (1) Branch President / Delegate to National Board
- (2) Branch Senior Vice-President
- (3) Branch Vice-President
- (4) Branch Secretary
- (5) Branch Treasurer

The following position pursuant to Rule 42 of the National Rules of the Australian Hotels Association is also required:

 NT Accommodation Hotels Division - 1 Representative to the AHA National Accommodation Division Board

# Reason for Election

An election is required to be conducted annually.

The term of office is due to expire in the normal course of events.

#### Electorate

The electorate is the financial members of the Australian Hotels Association Northern Territory Branch.

#### Nominations

Nominations shall close no later than 30 April 2012.

# Closure of Voting Rolls

The roll of voters is closed 7 days before the day on which nominations for the election open.

#### Voting System

The voting system for the Board positions is a direct voting system. The voting system for the Executive is the collegiate electoral system.

If you require any further information, please contact Amy Williamson, Chief Executive Officer, by telephone on 08 8981 3650.

Yours faithfully

Doug Sallis President