

Our Ref: ND:JG:112734

Email: returningofficer@newlaw.com.au

3 December 2018

### **PRIVATE & CONFIDENTIAL**

Mr Chris Enright
Executive Director
Registered Organisations Commission
414 LaTrobe Street
MELBOURNE VIC 3000

BY EMAIL: regorgs@roc.gov.au

Dear Mr Enright

ABN 51 148 002 368
50 O'Dea Avenue
Waterloo NSW 2017
t (02) 8595 1295
f (02) 9662 1202
e reception@newlaw.com.au
www.newlaw.com.au

**NEW Law Pty Ltd** 

RE: AUSTRALIAN NURSING AND MIDWIFERY FEDERATION - NEW SOUTH WALES BRANCH COLLEGIATE ELECTION POSITIONS OF PRESIDENT (1), VICE-PRESIDENT (1) AND EXECUTIVE MEMBERS (6)

Following the decision of the Registered Organisations Commission in [2018] ROCD 157, appointing me as Returning Officer for the above elections, I advise that ballots for all positions were conducted on Friday 30 November 2018.

Following the counting of ballots, I declared the following persons elected:

### President

O'Bray Smith

### Vice-President

Lorna Scott

### **Branch Executive**

Michelle Cashman Gary Clark Elizabeth McCall Sue White Kerry Rodgers Edward Makepeace The attached Schedule sets out some further detail as to the process of the elections and results therein.

Should you require any further information, do not hesitate to contact me

Yours faithfully

**Neale Dawson** 

Managing Director/Principal Solicitor and Returning Officer for the ANMF, NSW Branch

encl

## SCHEDULE OF ELECTORAL PROCESS

- 1. Nominations for all positions opened on 2 November 2018.
- Nominations closed at 12 noon on 23 November 2018.
- 3. The close of the nominations withdrawal period was 12 noon on 23 November 2018.
- 4. Receipt of Candidate Statements closed at 12 noon on 23 November 2018.
- 5. Ballot conducted at ANMF, NSW Branch Council Meeting on Friday 30 November 2018.

In accordance with Rule 85B of the ANMF Rules, the attached Election Notice was distributed to all members of the electoral college outlining the relevant information.

As at the close of nominations on 23 November 2018, more nominations were received than positions vacant, for all positions. I therefore conducted three (3) ballots for the order of the draw on the ballot papers and the results were as follows:

# President - 1 position

- 1. Lyn Hopper
- 2. O'Bray Smith

## Vice-President – 1 position

- 1. Michelle Straub
- 2. Lorna Scott

# **Branch Executive – 6 positions**

- 1. Michelle Cashman
- 2. Kerry Rodgers
- 3. Edward Makepeace
- Elizabeth McCall
- 5. Gary Clark
- 6. Gil Wilson
- 7. Sue White

Elections were conducted at the meeting of the ANMF, NSW Branch Council on 30 November. I confirm that 21 Councillors of the ANMF, NSW Branch were present, with one Councillor absent. I did not receive a request for a postal vote from the absent Councillor.

I received 21 ballot papers in each election. There were no informal ballot papers.

The results of those elections are set out below:

# President – 1 position

O'Bray Smith defeated Lyn Hopper by 13 votes to 8.

# Vice-President – 1 position

Lorna Scott defeated Michelle Straub by 15 votes to 6.

## **Branch Executive – 6 positions**

Michelle Cashman 21 votes Gary Clark 21 votes. Elizabeth McCall 20 votes. Sue White 19 votes. Kerry Rodgers 18 votes. Edward Makepeace 17 votes. Gil Wilson 10 votes.

I therefore declared the following candidates as elected:

## **President**

O'Bray Smith

### Vice-President

Lorna Scott

# **Branch Executive**

Michelle Cashman Gary Clark Elizabeth McCall Sue White Kerry Rodgers Edward Makepeace

NEALE DAWSON RETURNING OFFICER