Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009

POST ELECTION REPORT

Client: CPSU, the Community and Public Sector Union, SPSF Group

Western Australian Prison Officers' Union Branch

Contact details: John Welsh Email: johnwelch@wapou.asn.au

Tel: 08 9272 3222

FWA contact Nick Salzberg Email: nick.salzberg@fwc.gov.au

officer: Tel: (03) 8661 7812

ELECTION/S COVERED IN THIS REPORT

Election Decision No/s: E2015/51

RULES

Rules used for the election: [090V-SPSF: Incorporates alterations of 17/10/2014 (R2014/161)] replaces rulebook dated 17/2/2014

Model Rule reference (if any): N/A
Rules difficult to apply/interpret: None
Model Rule reference (if any) N/A

ROLL OF VOTERS

Total number of voters on the Roll: 2250

Number of apparent workplace addresses: 13

Number of non-current addresses: 1

Other matters pertaining to the roll of voters:

IRREGULARITIES

Details of written allegations of Nil

irregularities, and action taken by AEC:

Other irregularities identified, and action taken: Nil

ATTACHMENTS

Declaration of Results for Contested Offices and Uncontested Offices

Simon Bulloch Returning Officer 20 April 2015

Bulanh

CPSU, the Community and Public Sector Union, SPSF Group Western Australian Prison Officers' Union Branch Election

Declaration of Results for Contested and Uncontested Offices

E2015/51

Below are the results of the election for the following offices, conducted in accordance with the provisions of the *Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009* and the rules of the organisation.

Branch Executive

| Total number of names on the roll of voter Ballot papers issued Replacement ballot papers issued Total Ballot Papers Issued Ballot papers / envelopes returned for scru Less ballot papers / envelopes rejected at Adjusting balance Total Ballot Papers Admitted to Scrutin Percentage of ballot papers returned to nu Ballot papers returned as unclaimed mail Ballot papers not returned | tiny preliminary scrutiny y | 2250 2250 2 2252 676 13 0 663 30 22 |
|---|--|--|
| Branch Executive Member Candidates | First Preference Votes | <u>Votes</u> |
| MCATEER, Derick REYNOLDS, Sigi | 344 315 | 344 315 |

| Exhausted Votes Loss/Gain by Fraction Total votes Formal ballot papers | 659 659 | 0 0 659 659 |
|---|------------|----------------------|
| Informal ballot papers | 4 | 4 |

I declare Derick McAteer elected.

Branch Council Delegates to Branch Council - Hakea Prison Sub-Branch

| Total number of names on the roll of voters | 412 |
|---|-----|
| Ballot papers issued | 412 |
| Replacement ballot papers issued | 1 |
| Total Ballot Papers Issued | 413 |
| Ballot papers / envelopes returned for scrutiny | 210 |
| Less ballot papers / envelopes rejected at preliminary scrutiny | 6 |
| Adjusting balance | 0 |
| Total Ballot Papers Admitted to Scrutiny | 204 |
| Percentage of ballot papers returned to number issued | 50 |
| Ballot papers returned as unclaimed mail | 5 |
| Ballot papers not returned | 198 |

AEC
Australian Electoral Commission

Delegates to Branch Council - Hakea Prison Sub-Branch

| <u>Candidates</u> | First Preference Votes | <u>Votes</u> |
|---|------------------------|---------------------------|
| ANSELL, Gavin SMITH, Andrew Wayne | 143 58 | 143 58 |
| Exhausted Votes Loss/Gain by Fraction Total votes Formal ballot papers Informal ballot papers | 201 201 3 | 0 0 201 201 3 |

I declare Gavin Ansell elected.

Delegates to Branch Council - Academy Sub-Branch

Candidates

No nomination was received

No candidates elected.

Delegates to Branch Council - Acacia Prison Sub-Branch

Candidates

No nomination was received

No candidates elected.

Delegates to Branch Council - Bandyup Prison Sub-Branch (2)

Candidates

DEIMEL, Bernadine HAMPTON-MEAGHER, Julie

I declare Bernadine Deimel and Julie Hampton-Meagher elected.

Delegates to Branch Council - Bunbury Prison Sub-Branch

Candidates

PALMER, Matt

I declare Matt Palmer elected.

Delegates to Branch Council - Emergency Support Group Sub-Branch

Candidates

No nomination was received

No candidates elected.



Delegates to Branch Council - Greenough Prison Sub-Branch

Candidates

BARTON, Neil David

I declare Neil David Barton elected.

Delegates to Branch Council - Work Camps Sub-Branch

Candidates

No nomination was received

No candidates elected.

Delegates to Branch Council - Wandoo Prison Sub-Branch

<u>Candidates</u>

No nomination was received

No candidates elected.

Simon Bulloch Returning Officer

Australian Electoral Commission

17 April 2015



DECISION

Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009 s.189—Arrangement for conduct of an election

Community and Public Sector Union (E2015/51)

MR ENRIGHT

MELBOURNE, 27 JANUARY 2015

Arrangement for conduct of election.

[1] On 8 January 2015 the Community and Public Sector Union - SPSF Group, Western Australian Prison Officers' Union Branch lodged with the Fair Work Commission the prescribed information in relation to an election for the following offices:

Branch Executive Member (1)

Delegates to Branch Council (number to be determined in accordance with the rules) for each of the following sub-branches:

Academy

Acacia

Bandyup

Bunbury

Greenough

ESG/TSS

Hakea

Work Camps

Wandoo

[2] I am satisfied that an election for the abovenamed offices is required to be held under the rules of the organisation and, under subsection 189(3) of the *Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009*, I am making arrangements for the conduct of the election by the Australian Electoral Commission.



DELEGATE OF THE GENERAL MANAGER

Printed by authority of the Commonwealth Government Printer

<Price code A, PR560444>

Notice and Statement of Prescribed Information for an Election

I, John Welch being the Secretary of the CPSU SPSF WAPOU Branch make the following statement:

I am the Secretary of the CPSU SPSF WAPOU Branch,

I am authorised to lodge the following prescribed information concerning forthcoming elections in the WAPOU Branch of the CPSU SPSF, and

I confirm that the following information is being lodged under subsection 189(1) of the Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009.

Signed: December 2014.

Offices/Positions

| Α | Branch Executive Committee Members (1) |
|---|--|
| В | Branch Councillors: |
| | Academy (1) |
| | Acacia (1) |
| | Bandyup (2) |
| | Bunbury (1) |
| | Greenough (1) |
| | ESG/TSS (1) |
| | Hakea (2) |
| | Work Camps (1) |
| | Wandoo (1) |

Reasons for election:

Election for offices and positions marked A are due a vacancy created by the resignation of a member of the Executive.