

17 July 2014

Mr Timothy Kennedy General Secretary National Union of Workers By email: info@nuw.org.au

Cc: Mr Paul Richardson, Assistant National Secretary

prichadson@nuw.org.au

Dear Mr Kennedy

Annual Return of Information for the following Branch and previously existing Branches - New South Wales Branch , South Australian Branch, Western Australian Branch and Queensland Branch

I acknowledge receipt of your Declarations dated 15 July 2014 providing information in accordance with subsection 233(1) of Schedule 1 of the *Workplace Relations Act 1996*¹.

The documents were lodged with the Fair Work Commission on 16 and 17 July 2014. The annual returns cover the requisite information for the following Branches:

- AR2008/336 New South Wales Branch
- AR2008/340 Western Australian Branch
- AR2008/338 South Australian Branch
- AR2009/426 South Australian Branch
- AR2009/425 Queensland Branch

The annual returns will be placed on the website maintained by Fair Work Commission at http://www.e-airc.gov.au/080V/

Yours sincerely

Cynthia Lo-Booth Senior Adviser

egel Boul

Regulatory Compliance Branch

¹ Schedule 1 (also known as the RAO Schedule) of the *Workplace Relations Act 1996* was operative from 27 March 2006 to 30 June 2009.

11 Exhibition Street Melbourne VIC 3000 GPO Box 1994 Telephone: (03) 8661 7915 International: (613) 8661 7915 Facsimile: (03) 9655 0410

Melbourne VIC 3001 Email: cynthia.lobooth@fwc.gov.au





PR:RB

14C-011

15 July, 2014



Ms C Lo-Booth Senior Advisor - Regulatory Compliance Branch Fair Work Commission **GPO Box 1994** Melbourne VIC 3001

Dear Ms Lo-Booth,

Annual Returns of Information

I refer to your correspondence dated 21 June 2014 and our subsequent conversations.

Please find enclosed the following annual returns that were outstanding:

AR 2008/336 - New South Wales Branch

AR 2008/340 - Western Australian Branch

AR 2008/338 - South Australian Branch

AR 2008/426 - South Australian Branch

AR 2009/425 - Queensland Branch

Should you require any additional information or wish to discuss matters further please contact Assistant General Secretary Paul Richardson on (03) 9287 1850.

Yours faithfully,

TIM KENNEDY

GENERAL SECRETARY



AUSTRALIAN INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS COMMISSION

Workplace Relations Act 1996

Section 233 – Schedule 1B – ('the RAO Schedule'') - Annual Return of Information

NATIONAL UNION OF WORKERS - SOUTH AUSTRALIAN BRANCH

AR2009/426

DECLARATION

- I, Timothy John Kennedy, of 833 Bourke Street, Docklands Victoria, declare as follows:
 - 1. I am the General Secretary of the National Union of Workers ("the Union"), an organisation of employees registered at the time under Schedule 1B of the Workplace Relations Act 1996 ('the RAO Schedule") and I am authorised under the Rules of the Union to make this declaration.
 - 2. This declaration is made in accordance with section 233 of the RAO Schedule and the accompanying Regulations.
 - 3. Subject to the comments appearing in paragraphs 9 to 13 below, the following is a correct statement of the information contained in records to be kept by an organisation as required by the RAO Schedule
 - 4. Based on the organisation's records and to the best of my knowledge, I certify that a register of members of the Union was kept and maintained for the calendar year 2008 by the South Australian Branch ('the branch') as required by sections 230 (1) (a) and 230 (2) of the RAO Schedule.
 - 5. That Attachment 1 to this declaration is a list of the offices in the branch (section 230 (1) (b).
 - 6. That Attachment 2 to this declaration is a list of the names, postal addresses and occupations of the persons holding offices in the branch (section 230 (1) (c)).
 - 7. That the address of the offices of the Union was 48 Greenhill Road, Wayville, South Australia 5034. (section 230 (1) (d) and regulation 147 (d)).

- 8. There were no elections under the rules of the Union required to be held during the year commencing 1 January 2009 (section 230 (1) (d) and regulation 147 (e).
- 9. In relation to requirements of s230 (1) (d) of the Act, I am unable with any precision to declare the number of members of the branch as at 31 December 2008.
- 10. The branch merged with several other branches of the Union with effect from 12 August 2009 [2009 FWAD 59 R2009/1006].
- 11. The merged branches and the membership of the branches are now part of the General Branch of the Union.
- 12. Whilst the Union had and continues to have an integrated membership database it would be extremely time consuming and cost prohibitive for the Union to be able to extract the required data.
- 13. I note that in filing their annual financial records the branch declared it's membership as at 30 June 2008 as being 2613 [FR2008/242].

TIMOTHY JOHN KENNEDY
GENERAL SECRETARY
NATIONAL UNION OF WORKERS

DATED: 15 July 2014

ATTACHMENT 1

<u>LIST OF OFFICES – NATIONAL UNION OF WORKERS – SOUTH</u> <u>AUSTRALIAN BRANCH</u>

TO.		1	**	•	
Нr	and	າh.	Pre	2010	lent

Branch Senior Vice President

Branch Junior Vice President

Branch Secretary

Branch Committee of Management Member (10)

ATTACHMENT 2

LIST OF NAMES, POSTAL ADDRESSES AND OCCUPATIONS OF OFFICE HOLDERS

OFFICE	NAME	POSTAL ADDRESS	OCCUPATION
Branch President	Kaye Clavell	48 Greenhill Road Wayville SA 5034	Production Worker
Branch Senior Vice President	Alan Warne	48 Greenhill Road Wayville SA 5034	Food Industry Worker
Branch Junior Vice President	Trish Watts	48 Greenhill Road Wayville SA 5034	Pharmaceutical Industry Worker
Branch Secretary	Nicholas Thredgold	48 Greenhill Road Wayville SA 5034	Union Official
Committee of Management Member	Robert Nelson	48 Greenhill Road Wayville SA 5034	Union Official
Committee of Management Member	Andrew Bridges	48 Greenhill Road Wayville SA 5034	Storeworker
Committee of Management Member	Edward Sloniec	48 Greenhill Road Wayville SA 5034	Storeworker
Committee of Management Member	Bronte Allan	48 Greenhill Road Wayville SA 5034	Storeworker

Committee of Management Member	Tim Palmer	48 Greenhill Road Wayville SA 5034	Union Official
Committee of Management Member	Anne Castle	48 Greenhill Road Wayville SA 5034	Food Industry Worker
Committee of Management Member	Rachel Haydon	48 Greenhill Road Wayville SA 5034	Food Industry Worker
Committee of Management Member	Mark Whenan	48 Greenhill Road Wayville SA 5034	Union Official
Committee of Management Member	Richard O'Connell	48 Greenhill Road Wayville SA 5034	Paint Industry Worker
Committee of Management Member	John Beenham (appointed to fill casual vacancy in accordance with Rule 43)	48 Greenhill Road Wayville SA 5034	Storeworker