Australian Electoral Commission AEC

Workplace Relations Act 1996 - Schedule 1B

RETURNING OFFICER - POST ELECTION REPORT

<u>Client:</u> Police Federation of Australia – Northern Territory Police Branch

<u>Contact details:</u> Vince Kelly <u>Email:</u> vince.kelly@ntpa.com.au

Branch President <u>Tel:</u> (08) 8981 8840

Police Federation of Australia

GPO Box 2350 DARWIN NT 0801

<u>AIR contact officer:</u> Robert Pfeiffer <u>Email:</u> industrial.elections@air.gov.au

Tel: (03) 8661 7817

ELECTIONS COVERED IN THIS REPORT

Election Decision No: E2004/108

<u>Election:</u> Branch Senior Vice-President and Branch Executive Members

Returning Officer: Chris Roper

RULES

Rules used for elections Rule ID [200V: Incorporates alterations of 3/2/2004 [R2003/326]

Rules re eligibility to vote Rules 10(c)(ii); 52DA(1); 52DO(7)

ROLL OF VOTERS

Total number of voters on the roll	1030	
Number of private addresses	2	0.2%
Number of apparent workplace addresses	1028	99.8%

ALLEGATIONS OF IRREGULARITIES RECEIVED

There were no written complaints or allegations of irregularities

ATTACHMENT

Declaration of Results For Contested Offices

Chris Roper Returning Officer 27 May 2004

POLICE FEDERATION OF AUSTRALIA NORTHERN TERRITORY POLICE BRANCH DECLARATION OF RESULTS

Results of the election for the following offices conducted in accordance with the Workplace Relations Act 1996 and the rules of the organisation

E No.2004/108

Ballot papers issued	1030
Duplicate ballot papers issued	1
TOTAL BALLOT PAPERS ISSUED	1031
Ballot papers/envelopes returned for scrutiny	664
Less ballot paper/envelopes rejected at preliminary scrutiny	6
TOTAL BALLOT PAPERS ADMITTED TO SCRUTINY	658
Percentage of ballot papers returned to number issued	64.46%
Ballot papers returned as unclaimed mail	6
Ballot papers not returned	361

BRANCH SENIOR VICE-PRESIDENT (1)

<u>Candidates</u>	<u>Votes</u>
NAYDA, Wayne Kenneth SMITH, Andrew John Lindsay	217
	435
Formal ballot papers	652
Informal ballot papers	6

I declare A Smith elected.

BRANCH EXECUTIVE MEMBERS (6)

Candidates MALISAUSKAS, Darius BRYCE, Brian T GRANT, Bruce BACON, Danny MARSHALL, Adrian Arthur GILL, Shaun NICHOLSON, Douglas	Primary Votes 416 359 536 593 406 585 343
LLOYD, Tim	530
Formal primary votes	3768
Primary votes each ballot paper	Divided by 6
Formal ballot papers	628
Informal ballot papers	30

I declare D Malisauskas, B Grant, D Bacon, A Marshall, S Gill and T Lloyd elected.

Chris Roper Returning Officer Australian Electoral Commission Darwin 20 May 2004

Workplace Relations Act 1996 s.189 of Schedule 1B - arrangement for conduct of an election

Police Federation of Australia (E2004/108)

T. NASSIOS DEPUTY INDUSTRIAL REGISTRAR

MELBOURNE, 6 FEBRUARY 2004

Arrangement for conduct of election.

DECISION

[1] On 23 January 2004, the Northern Territory Police Branch of the abovenamed organisation lodged in the Industrial Registry the prescribed information in relation an election for the following offices:

Branch Senior Vice President (1) Branch Executive Members (6)

[2] I am satisfied that an election for the abovenamed offices is required to be held under the rules of the organisation and, under subsection 189(3) of Schedule 1B of the Workplace Relations Act 1996, I am making arrangements for the conduct of the election by the Australian Electoral Commission.



Printed by authority of the Commonwealth Government Printer





Northern Territory Police Association Incorporated

19 January 2004

Deputy Industrial Registrar Australian Industrial Registray GPO Box 1994S Melbourne Vic 3001

I, Vincent Michael Kelly state as follows:

I am the President of the Northern Territory Police Association Inc and the Police Federation of Australia Northern Territory Police Branch, organisations registered under the Workplace Relations Act 1996, and am authorised to make this statement.

The following information in respect of an election is being lodged in accordance with sub-section 214 (1) of the Industrial Relations Act 1999:

(a) an election is required in respect of the following offices:

Branch Senior Vice President

(1)

Branch Executive Members

(6)

(b) the reason for the election being:

Branch Senior Vice President Executive Members

expiration of term of office expiration of term of office

- (c) the electorate for this election is the financial members of the Northern Territory Police Association Inc and members of the Police Federation of Australia Northern Territory Police Branch
- (d) the voting system to be used in this election is the Direct Voting System
- (e) the date and time of the commencement and expiration of the period for nomination is as follows:

Nominations open

1 March 2004

Nominations close

31 March 2004

Would you please make arrangements with the Australian Electoral Commission for the above elections.

Dated this 19th day of January 2004.

Vincent Michael Kelly

President

Northern Territory Police Association Inc

The Police Federation of Australia Northern Territory Police Branch