## Police Federation of Australia Scheduled Branch Elections E2012/413

### DECLARATION OF RESULTS FOR UNCONTESTED AND CONTESTED OFFICES

Results of the election for the following offices conducted in accordance with the provisions of the Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009 and the rules of the organisation.

# **Branch Election**

Total number of persons on the roll of voters	4679
Ballot papers issued	4679
Duplicate ballot papers issued	2
TOTAL BALLOT PAPERS ISSUED	4681
Ballot papers / envelopes returned for scrutiny	2020
Less ballot papers / envelopes rejected at preliminary scrutiny	19
Adjusting Balance	0
TOTAL BALLOT PAPERS ADMITTED TO SCRUTINY	2001
Percentage of ballot papers returned to number issued	43%
Ballot papers returned as unclaimed mail	17
Ballot papers not returned	2644

#### Secretary

<u>Candidates</u>	First Preference Votes	<u>Votes</u>
CORNELL, Darren	914	914
SCHEFFLER, Tom	1066	1066
Exhausted Votes		0
Loss/Gain by Fraction		0
Total votes	1980	1980
Formal ballot papers	1980	1980
Informal ballot papers	4	4

#### I declare Tom Scheffler elected.

Total number of persons on the roll of voters	4679
Ballot papers issued	4679
Duplicate ballot papers issued	2
TOTAL BALLOT PAPERS ISSUED	4681
Ballot papers / envelopes returned for scrutiny	2020
Less ballot papers / envelopes rejected at preliminary scrutiny	19
Adjusting Balance	0
TOTAL BALLOT PAPERS ADMITTED TO SCRUTINY	2001
Percentage of ballot papers returned to number issued	43%
Ballot papers returned as unclaimed mail	17
Ballot papers not returned	2644

#### Committee Member (8)

<u>Candidates</u>	First Preference Votes	Votes
TAPPIN, Jim	1072	1072
WHETTON, Steven	1097	1097
MUNDY, Daryl	1401	1401
KENT, Michael	1296	1296
STRANGE, Samantha	1385	1385
MCDONALD, Joe	942	942
SNOWDEN, Julian	1316	1316
MANNING, Mitch	1429	1429
REYNOLDS , David (Bully)	1527	1527
MILNE, Trevor	1486	1486

WALKLEY, Chris	1441	1441
Exhausted Votes		0
Loss/Gain by Fraction		0
Total votes	14392	14392
Formal ballot papers	1799	1799
Informal ballot papers	134	134

I declare Michael Kent, Mitch Manning, Trevor Milne, Daryl Mundy, David (Bully) Reynolds , Julian Snowden, Samantha Strange and Chris Walkley elected.

#### President

Candidate

CARROLL, Mark

I declare Mark Carroll elected.

**Deputy President** 

Candidate ZIMMERMAN, Bernadette (Bernie)

I declare Bernadette (Bernie) Zimmerman elected.

**Vice President** 

Candidate CANNON, Allan

I declare Allan Cannon elected.

Khitz

Karen Lister Returning Officer Australian Electoral Commission

2 April 2013



# DECISION

*Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009* s.189 – Arrangement for conduct of an election

**Police Federation of Australia** (E2012/413)

AILSA CARRUTHERS

# MELBOURNE, 10 DECEMBER 2012

Arrangement for conduct of election.

[1] On 26 November 2012 the South Australia Police Branch of the Police Federation of Australia lodged with Fair Work Australia the prescribed information in relation to an election for the following offices:

Branch President Branch Secretary Branch Deputy President Branch Vice President Branch Committee Members (8)

[2] I am satisfied that an election for the abovenamed offices is required to be held under the rules of the organisation and, under subsection 189(3) of the *Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009*, I am making arrangements for the conduct of the election by the Australian Electoral Commission.



DELEGATE OF THE GENERAL MANAGER FAIR WORK AUSTRALIA

Printed by authority of the Commonwealth Government Printer

<Price code A, PR532209 >





Our Ref:AD:ah2:1530/2012

21 November 2012

ABN 73 802 822 770

of Australia

South Australia Police Branch

Police Federation

27 Carrington Street Adelaide SA 5000

**Tel: (08) 8212 3055** Fax: (08) 8212 2002

The General Manager Fair Work Australia GPO Box 1994 MELBOURNE VIC 3001

Dear Sir

**Re: Branch Election** 

The term of office of our branch committee members and office bearers expires on 31 March 2013.

Attached is my notice made pursuant to section 189 of the *Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009* concerning this election.

I look forward to progressing this matter at your earliest convenience.

Yours faithfully

ANDREW DUNN SECRETARY

Enc.



Police Federation of Australia

South Australia Police Branch ABN 73 802 822 770

27 Carrington Street Adelaide SA 5000

Tel: (08) 8212 3055

# PRESCRIBED INFORMATION IN RESPECT OF ELECTION - SECTION 189 OF THE FAIR WORK (REGISTERED ORGANISATIONS) ACT 2009

I am an officer of the Police Federation of Australia, South Australia Police Branch and am authorised to sign this statement which is lodged in accordance with section 189 of the Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009.

**1**. The office in respect of which the election is required is:

**Branch President Branch Secretary Branch Deputy President Branch Vice President Branch Committee Members (eight)** 

2. The reason for which the election is required is:

Expiration of term of office pursuant to rule 44B(b)(i) of the registered rules of the Police Federation of Australia.

3. The electorate for the election is:

South Australia Police Branch

4. The preferred dates and times that nominations open and close are:

Rolls Close Nominations open	5.00 pm, Monday 4 February 2013 Monday 11 February 2013.
Nominations advertised	<ol> <li>December 2012 edition of the <i>Police Journal</i> (to be published no later than 21 December 2012)</li> </ol>
	<ol> <li>Newsletter to be distributed by Friday, 8 February 2013 and displayed on notice boards throughout workplaces in accordance with rule 44B(f)(iii) of the registered rules of the Police Federation of Australia.</li> </ol>
Nominations close	5.00 pm, Monday, 25 February 2013
Ballot opens	Thursday, 14 March 2013
Ballot closes	10.00 am, Friday, 29 March 2013
Scrutiny and count	10.30 am, Friday, 29 March 2013

5. The voting system to be used in the conduct of the election is:

**Direct voting** 

ANDREW DUNN SECRETARY