Police Federation of Australia Casual Vacancy Branch Committee Member E2013/250

Declaration of Results for Contested Offices

E2013/250

Below are the results of the election for the following offices, conducted in accordance with the provisions of the Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009 and the rules of the organisation.

Branch Election

Total number of names on the roll of voters	4637
Ballot papers issued	4637
Replacement ballot papers issued	0
Total Ballot Papers Issued	4637
Ballot papers / envelopes returned for scrutiny	931
Less ballot papers / envelopes rejected at preliminary scrutiny	6
Adjusting balance	0
Total Ballot Papers Admitted to Scrutiny	925
Percentage of ballot papers returned to number issued	20
Ballot papers returned as unclaimed mail	27
Ballot papers not returned	3679

Committee Member

<u>Candidates</u>	First Preference Votes	<u>Votes</u>
HEFFERNAN, Andrew Robert	1 51	0
BEATTIE, Robert Neil	191	0
WHITEHORN, Bryan	183	0
TAPPIN, James Richard	248	0
KLUZEK, Matthew	151	0
Exhausted Votes Loss/Gain by Fraction Total votes Formal ballot papers Informal ballot papers	924 924 1	0 0 0 924 1

I declare James Richard Tappin elected.

Spencer Gale Returning Officer

Australian Electoral Commission

25 November 2013





DECISION

Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009 s.189—Arrangement for conduct of an election

Police Federation of Australia

(E2013/250)

MR ENRIGHT

MELBOURNE, 22 AUGUST 2013

Arrangement for conduct of election.

[1] On 14 August 2013 the Police Federation of Australia - South Australia Police Branch lodged with the Fair Work Commission the prescribed information in relation to an election to fill a casual vacancy for the remainder of the term of office in the following office:

Branch Committee Member

[2] I am satisfied that an election for the abovenamed offices is required to be held under the rules of the organisation and, under subsection 189(3) of the *Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009*, I am making arrangements for the conduct of the election by the Australian Electoral Commission.



DELEGATE OF THE GENERAL MANAGER

Printed by authority of the Commonwealth Government Printer

<Price code A, PR540598>



Ref: TS:ss:0100/13

27 Carrington Street Adelaide SA 5000

Tel: (08) 8212 3055 Fax: (08) 8212 2002

8 August 2013

The General Manager Fair Work Commission GPO Box 1994 MELBOURNE VIC 3001

Dear Sir

Re: Branch Election

At the declaration of the recent election for a branch deputy president, branch committee member Trevor Milne was elected branch deputy president.

I am now required to call a by-election to fill the consequent vacant branch committee member position.

<u>Attached</u> is a notice made pursuant to Section 189 of the *Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009* and a copy of Mr Milne's resignation as an ordinary member of the branch committee.

I look forward to progressing this matter in due course.

Yours sincerely

THOMAS SCHEFFLER SECRETARY



PRESCRIBED INFORMATION IN RESPECT OF ELECTION – SECTION 189 OF THE FAIR WORK (REGISTERED ORGANISATIONS) ACT 2009

I am an officer of the Police Federation of Australia, South Australia Police Branch and am authorized to sign this statement which is lodged in accordance with Section 189 of the Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009.

1. The office in respect of which the election is required is:

Branch committee member

2. The reason for which the election is required is:

A vacancy has now occurred due to the election of a branch committee member to the position of branch deputy president.

3. The electorate for the election is:

South Australia Police Branch

4. The preferred dates and times that nominations open and close are:

Roll closes 5.00 pm Monday 7 October 2013

Nominations open Monday 14 October 2013

Nominations advertised 1. In the October 2013 edition of the Police

Journal

2. Newsletter to be distributed by 14 October 2013 and displayed on noticeboards throughout workplaces in accordance with Rule 44B(f)(iii) of the registered rules of the

Police Federation of Australia

Nominations close 5.00 pm Monday 28 October 2013

Ballot opens Monday 11 November 2013

Ballot closes 10.00 am Monday 25 November 2013

5. The voting system to be used in the conduct of the election is:

Direct voting

THOMAS SCHEFFLER SECRETARY

8 August 2013